New Commissioners Elected to Kansas Commodity Commissions

Posted March 11, 2020

The Kansas Department of Agriculture has announced the result of the elections held for the state’s five grain commodity commissions — corn, grain sorghum, soybeans, sunflowers and wheat — in districts four, five and six in the central region of the state.

Kansas Corn Commission

  • District Four: Mike Brzon, Republic County
  • District Five: Terrance Vinduska, Marion County
  • District Six: Kent Moore, Pratt County

Kansas Grain Sorghum Commission

  • District Four: Stephen Bigge, Rooks County
  • District Six: Max Tjaden, Sedgwick County

Kansas Soybean Commission

  • District Four: Ronald Ohlde, Washington County
  • District Five: Keith Miller, Barton County
  • District Six: Dennis Gruenbacher, Sedgwick County

Kansas Sunflower Commission

  • No candidates ran for commissioner in districts four, five, or six. The Kansas Sunflower Commission will appoint these positions.

Kansas Wheat Commission

  • District Four: Michael McClellan, Rooks County
  • District Five: Doug Keesling, Rice County
  • District Six: Martin Kerschen, Sedgwick County

For more information on the new commissioners, please visit the KDA website at Commissioners serve three-year terms and the terms will commence on April 1, 2020.