Kansas Wheat Commission seeking Eastern Region Commission Candidate

Posted April 28, 2019

The Kansas Wheat Commission is seeking applications for a commissioner to represent the eastern third of the state.  

Interested Kansas wheat producers must be willing to represent other wheat producers and serve a three-year term. Submit an application in digital format to  kswheat@kswheat.com. Applications, which must be received by May 20, 2019, should include: 1) nominee's name, biography and resume; and a letter from the nominee stating his or her willingness to serve. 

The Eastern Region (District Seven) is comprised of the following counties: Allen, Anderson, Atchison, Bourbon, Brown, Butler, Chase, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Coffey, Cowley, Crawford, Doniphan, Douglas, Elk, Franklin, Geary, Greenwood, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Labette, Leavenworth, Linn, Lyon, Marshall, Miami, Montgomery, Morris, Nemaha, Neosho, Osage, Pottawatomie, Riley, Shawnee, Wabaunsee, Wilson, Woodson, Wyandotte.

The Kansas Wheat Commission is a grower-funded, grower-governed wheat products advocacy organization working to secure the future of Kansas wheat in the global market through international trade research, export systems studies and continually improved varieties of wheat. 

Its mission is to increase wheat producer productivity and profitability through research, education and domestic and international market development. Kansas Wheat Commission has formed a cooperative agreement with the Kansas Association of Wheat Growers, joining together as "leaders in the adoption of profitable innovations for wheat." 

Kansas Wheat Commissioners participate in a number of marketing activities in-state and through the national marketing arm, the U.S. Wheat Associates. Commissioners also choose where to invest assessment funds and help to promote wheat production, education and marketing. 

Commissioner candidates must be Kansas residents, must be engaged in the growing of wheat and must own or share in the ownership and risk of loss of such wheat, whether as a landlord or tenant. 

A commissioner will be chosen at the Commission’s upcoming May board meeting and will take office immediately following their appointment. For more information, call 785-539-0255 or e-mail kswheat@kswheat.com.