New Commissioners Elected to Kansas Commodity Commissions

Posted March 16, 2017

The Kansas Department of Agriculture has announced the result of the elections held for the state’s five grain commodity commissions — corn, grain sorghum, soybeans, sunflowers and wheat — in districts Four, Five and Six in the central region of the state.

KDA provides administration and oversight to the annual election process for the five commodity commissions in Kansas. Deputy Secretary Chad Bontrager serves as a representative on each. “Kansas farmers continue to invest in growth in the form of research and market development activities through check-off dollars. The commodity commissions play a valuable role in this investment in Kansas agriculture,” Bontrager said. “We appreciate these Kansans who serve the greater agriculture industry in this role, and we congratulate them on being elected as a commodity commissioner.”

Kansas Wheat Commission

District Four: Michael McClellan grows wheat in Rooks County. He currently serves the Kansas Wheat Commission as vice chairman, as well as Plains Grain Inc., in the same capacity. McClellan graduated with a bachelor’s degree in agriculture economics from Kansas State University. He is married to Tammy and has four daughters.

District Five: David Radenberg grows wheat in Barton County where his family farm has been active for more than 100 years. He is a member of Barton County Farm Bureau, Central Plains Coop and serves as the current secretary-treasurer for the Kansas Wheat Commission. Radenberg graduated with his associate degree from Barton Community College and with his bachelor’s degree from Kansas State University.

District Six: Scott Van Allen is a fourth-generation wheat farmer in Sumner County. Following in the footsteps of his father, Darrel, he has served nine years as a Kansas Wheat Commissioner and is a past president of the Sumner County Farm Bureau. Van Allen is married to Donna and has two children.

Commissioners serve three-year terms and the terms will commence on April 1, 2017.

[Read more]